Book Review: The Crimson Shadow Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore

May 13, 2012 at 1:06 am | Posted in Book Review | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

The “Crimson Shadow” trilogy ( The Sword of Bedwyr, Luthien’s Gamble and The Dragon King) is written by R.A. Salvatore. These books are a fast, easy read with little complexity like some other fantasy novels. The books are straight adventure. Characters, plot and style are what drive these books through an interesting story.

Luthien Bedwyr is the main character of these books. He starts out an innocent young man from an island part of the kingdom of Eriador. By the end, he has undergone changes, found love and becomes a hero. Along the way he discovers friends and helpers in the halfling Oliver de Burrows, the wizard Brind Amour and the half-elf Siobahn. These characters move a simple, adventurous plot along to a rousing conclusion.

Plotwise, the books are straight forward. In the first book, Luthien becomes the reluctant leader of a revolution. The second book tells the story of the freeing of Eriador. The final book involves the great battle to defeat evil king Greensparrow.

These fantasy books don’t have a lot of depth, but are good if you’re looking for entertainment. A reader can put their brain in idle and enjoy a fun romp through the fantasy world of the Crimson Shadow.


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: